A New Hope

OK so here we have it, my first ever marathon and my first ever blog. Both will have some hiccups at first, so this should be fun.

So yeah, I’m running a marathon. While my body type is not exactly (or even close) to what you typically see on the cover of Runner’s World, I think with 6 months of prep time I should be able to show this marathon who is boss. Maybe not a Kenyan type of finish (about 2hrs 15 min) but I think I should be able to finish in less than 24 hrs.

Why, you may ask, am I running a marathon. Good question, I have asked myself that question about 30-40 times since I signed up, and here are the answers I came up with so far:

-I need to work out, but I find that training for something is much more enjoyable than just going to the health club.
-I have always wanted to run a marathon.
-It’s one last big selfish goal that I can cross off the list before I get married and my goals become more couple/family oriented.
-Stupid Augie stole my lungs about 8 years ago and it’s about time for me to take them back.
-AIDS has been doing a pretty good job of being a horrible disease and I would like to do my part in stopping that.
-The Honolulu marathon called me a name and I need an excuse to go to Hawaii and kicks it’s butt.

So my thought is I’ll use this blog as a way to update people on my progress in training for this marathon as well as a reminder that I need to raise some cold hard cash as well.

http://www.aidsmarathon.com/participant.asp?runner=CH-4072&EventCode=HN08

That’s my AIDS Marathon page where you can make donations and see a few other cool things (like a picture of Homer running a marathon).

There were a number of different foundations that had similar programs, I checked them all out, and after some thought decided that AIDS ticks me off more than any other disease and if I was going to dedicate half of a year, training for an event and raising money, I wanted to to go towards ruining the day of AIDS and helping people with AIDS to keep chugging until a cure is found.

Day 1…0 miles logged toward the marathon.
Week 1 weight…250 lbs (yup, 1/8th of a ton)
Dollars raised….0

So I’m off….. I’ll have my first run today. Keep checking up on my progress and I’ll do what I can to keep it entertaining.

One Response

  1. In first! Well friend, I hope that you are successful in your journey. I have made a menial donation but hope that it helps! It comes courtesy of the Chicago Cubs, section 215, Row 7.

    I’m glad to hear that you’ve begun this. You should do some before and after pictures, I think you’ll be pretty psyched at the results.

Leave a comment